What is Mohs Scale of Mineral Hardness

Mohs Scale of Mineral Hardness is a common method used to rank the relative hardness of a gemstone or mineral by its resistance to scratching. Developed by a German mineralogist Friedrich Moh in 1812, this scale grades minerals on a scale from 1 (very soft) to 10 (very hard). The higher the number on the Mohs Scale, the stronger the metal, thus your jewelry will not bend or scratch. While traditional metals such as gold, silver, and platinum require greater care to maintain their luster, your alternative metal rings will always be stylish and care-free for years to come. 


Diamond: 10
Tungsten Carbide: 9
Ceramic: 7.5
Cobalt: 7.5
Titanium: 6
Platinum: 4
Gold, Silver: 2.5

Talc: 1